Wittmer takes GTLM driver’s crown

October 5, 2014

Wittmer takes GTLM driver’s crown

October 5, 2014

Three men entered the final round of the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship with a chance of taking the GTLM driver’s championship and it was Canadian ace Kuno Wittmer who came away with the victory.

Wittmer and regular teammate Jonathan Bomarito entered the final round equal on points but the SRT Motorsports squad elected to split the pairing to double their chances of success.

Corvette Racing’s Antonio Garica entered Petit Le Mans with a seven point deficit. He had to win the race and have either Wittmer or Bomarito finish fourth or lower to take the crown.

kuno_champ_aA pit lane incident between the No.3 Corvette, the No.911 Porsche and the Risi Ferrari took Garcia out of championship race in the opening half of the race and it came down to the battle between the Dodge Viper entries.

Wittmer – teamed with Marc Goosens and IndyCar ace Ryan Hunter-Reay had the upper hand on race day – the duo finished third while Bomarito’s car with Dominic Farnbacher and Rob Bell recorded a sixth place finish.

The championship win was a bitter-sweet result for Wittmer whose teammate Bomarito was unable to share in the title win after strong combined performances between the pair all season.

“Definitely the feeling is quite extraordinary. It hasn’t sunk in yet. I think I had tears in my eyes for about half an hour there on the timing stand,” Wittmer said.

“To be honest, to be crowned champion in the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship for the first time is special. It showcases just how great the Championship really it. It showcases how competitive our class is, the GTLM class. To be honest, I’m a bit upside down on emotions due to the fact that Jonathon can’t be sitting beside me.

“He deserves it just as much as I do. We worked all season to be in this type of position to get a point lead. Strategically we got split for Petit, which makes sense, because one of us did win.

“We had the SRT Viper right up there at the top of the charts. It’s quite exhilarating to fight against world class drivers and top teams. Here we are, we can only hope to do it again in 2015.”

Porsche clinched the manufacturer’s championship at the final race, helped in part by the victory by Bryan Sellars, Wolf Henzler and Marco Holzer aboard the Falken Porsche. This was the second year in row that the No.17 machine tasted success at Petit Le Mans.

Porsche also claimed second place on the podium with the No.912 Porsche North America entry of Patrick Long, Michael Christensen and Earl Bamber.

Latest Photos

Latest Video

Kellymoss provides drivers a path to the IMSA WeatherTech Championship

Friday August 25, 2023