Vanthoor, Hindman claim Lime Rock poles

July 20, 2019

Vanthoor, Hindman claim Lime Rock poles

July 20, 2019

Times continued to fall as temperatures continue to rise at Lime Rock Park ahead of today’s Northeast Grand Prix. The session went from 85 ambient and 96 track to start to 90 and 98 by GT Le Mans qualifying.

The top six GT Le Mans class cars in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship surpassed last year’s pole time of 49.754 seconds set by Antonio Garcia in the No. 3 Corvette C7.R.

Leading the way was Laurens Vanthoor, scoring an overdue maiden WeatherTech Championship pole in the No. 912 Porsche 911 RSR. Vanthoor led teammate Nick Tandy, in the sister No. 911 car, by just 0.052 of a second at the 1.474-mile track.

The best lap for Vanthoor was 49.133 seconds and the best for Tandy was 49.185. All eight GTLM cars qualified with a lap less than 50 seconds.

Vanthoor and Earl Bamber, known as the “BamThor” driver pairing, lead Tandy and Patrick Pilet in the GTLM driver standings heading into today’s race (3 p.m. EDT, NBC Sports App and 9:30 p.m. EDT, NBCSN).

Connor De Phillippi posted an early number at 49.322 seconds in the No. 25 BMW M8 GTE and will roll off third, ahead of the first Ford (No. 66) and Corvette (No. 3).

In GT Daytona, Trent Hindman scored his third pole of the year in the No. 86 Meyer Shank Racing Acura NSX GT3 Evo.

Hindman at 51.456 and Ben Keating at 51.482 seconds qualified under last year’s pole time of 51.491 seconds set by Patrick Long.

The IMSA MICHELIN Pilot Challenge race is next at 11:10 a.m. EDT, live on IMSA.TV and IMSA Radio.


Latest Photos

Latest Video

Kellymoss provides drivers a path to the IMSA WeatherTech Championship

Friday August 25, 2023