Toyota takes win and driver’s title

November 15, 2014

Toyota takes win and driver’s title

November 15, 2014

Toyota’s Anthony Davidson and Sebastien Buemi’s run of race wins may have come to an end in Bahrain but the British/Swiss duo did enough to clinch the 2014 FIA World Endurance Championship driver’s title today.

An alternator issue delayed Davidson and Buemi who lost 18 laps in the pits but their teammates in the No.7 car Alex Wurz, Stéphane Sarrazin and Mike Conway were able to take the victory.

AUTO - WEC 6 HOURS OF BAHRAIN 2014The No.7 Toyota led for much of the race despite making an early pitstop during a full course yellow period, replacing the splash-and-dash they would normally require towards the finish.

After showing strong pace in practice and qualifying, Porsche scored its first double podium of the season to finish second and third but could not clinch their first win.

Neel Jani, Romain Dumas and Marc Lieb took second ahead of Mark Webber, Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard.

After having to change three chassis during the Bahrain weekend, Audi’s race was untroubled but they were unable to challenge Porsche and Toyota – finishing one and two laps down in fourth and fifth.

“It’s been an amazing year. For me personally this is the biggest achievement in my career by a long way so it is a big day,” Davidson said.

“I have never been a World Champion before so this means a lot and it still hasn’t really sunk in yet. The team did an amazing job and have given us the fastest car.

“It wasn’t exactly the way we wanted to win the title but I’m not complaining. Big thanks to the mechanics today for getting the car out on track again, not only the #8 guys but also the crew from #7 who helped out.

“This championship has been a real team effort and I’m so grateful to everyone who has made it happen. It’s a great day but there is still one more job to do in Brazil; win the manufacturers’ World Championship.”

AUTO - WEC 6 HOURS OF BAHRAIN 2014The LM P2 victory went to the KCMG ORECA-Nissan team – repeating their win from Circuit of the Americas. Alex Imperatori, Richard Bradley and Matt Howson took the top step of the podium.

In GTE Pro Ferrari clinched the driver’s championship for Toni Vilander and Gianmaria Bruni. The experienced duo took the race win over the Aston Martin of Darren Turner and Stefan Mucke.

Aston Martin took the GTE Am championship win with the “Dane Train” trio of Kristian Poulsen, David Heinemeier Hansson and Nicki Thiim taking the victory and the championship.

The final round of the FIA World Endurance Championship will be held at Interlagos in Brazil from November 28 to 30.


Latest Photos

Latest Video

A memorable IMSA season ended with the excitement of Motul Petit Le Mans

Wednesday October 18, 2023