Top Prototype Teams are on “the Gas” at Sebring

March 15, 2012

Top Prototype Teams are on “the Gas” at Sebring

March 15, 2012

With nine classes on the combined schedule between the 61 ALMS and WEC entries, you may be surprised to learn that some of the hottest competition at the Twelve Hours of Sebring is in a class that is not officially on the program – top gasoline or non-diesel powered Prototype.

Audi’s trio of diesel powered entries are heavily favored to claim overall honors, but the competition for top gas honors and s a spot on the overall race podium is sure to be intense.

A trio of Honda powered ARX- 03a entries from #6 Muscle Milk, #21 Strakka and #22 JRM have all shown speed in testing.  Each has a stellar line -up of drivers. Muscle Milk rolls with Lucas Luhr, Klaus Graf and last year’s Sebring and Le Mans runner-up Simon Pagenaud.

Strakka counters with Danny Watts , Jonny Kane and Nick Leventis, while JRM features former ALMS champion David Brabham, Peter Dumbreck and Karun Chandhok.

The defending ALMS champion Dyson Racing team of Chris Dyson and Guy Smith are joined by Steven Kane in a shiny a new Lola Mazda.

The Rebellion Racing Lola Toyotas go with Nick Heidfeld, Nicolas Prost and Neel Jani aboard the #12 and Andrea Bellichi, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Harold Primat in the #13. The Rebellion team  took “top gas” honors at Le Mans in 2011.

The #15 Oak Racing Pescarolo Judd is driven Guillaume Moreau, Bertrand Baguette and Dominik Kraihamer.

Former Sebring winner Emmanuel Collard heads the line-up in the #16 Pescarolo Judd team with Jean- Christophe Boullion and Julien Jousse. 

Last year, the late arriving Highcroft Racing Honda powered ARX-01e, turned in a surprising performance to claim “best in gas” honors and second overall, just 31 seconds adrift of the winning Oreca Peugeot 980HDI FAP diesel.

Can a non-diesel take the overall win?  Absolutely.  Penske Racing turned the trick in 2008 with Timo Bernhard, Romain Dumas and Collard in a Porsche RS Spyder as Porsche took a 1-2 finish with Dyson Racing

Latest Photos

Latest Video

Kellymoss provides drivers a path to the IMSA WeatherTech Championship

Friday August 25, 2023