ABB Formula E Championship

The ABB FIA Formula E Championship provides a look at what the future both of racing and the automotive industry could be. Now in its fourth season, the electric open-wheel championship runs a calendar that starts in the winter and finishes in the summer, and races in high profile, major cities around the world such as Hong Kong, Mexico City, Rome, Paris, Berlin and New York City.

The electric focus and messages of mobility and sustainability have appealed to Michelin, which has been the official tire partner of Formula E since the series’ inception in 2014. Michelin created a bespoke, treaded, highly energy efficient 18-inch tire for competition, which can be used in both dry and wet conditions. The series has extended the partnership with Michelin through the 2020-2021 season.

Formula E has attracted a wide swath of manufacturer interest in its first few seasons of competition. Active manufacturers include Audi, Citroen (DS), Jaguar, Renault, Venturi, NIO and Mahindra. Nissan will take over Renault’s entry from season five. BMW, Mercedes-Benz and Porsche are also on the way with their own entries in the years to come, and more manufacturers could be possible as well.

Nelson Piquet Jr., Sebastien Buemi and Lucas di Grassi are all former Formula 1 drivers but have established themselves as the leading lights of Formula E, as the series’ first three championship-winning drivers. They’re all part of a deep 10-team, 20-car field of competitors, which is only poised to grow in future seasons.

2017-2018 FIA Formula E Championship

December 2017 to 
July 2018
2-3 December 2017
Hong Kong E-Prix
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Winners: 2-Sam Bird (DS Virgin), 19-Felix Rosenqvist (Mahindra)
13 January 2018
Marrakesh E-Prix
Winner: 19-Felix Rosenqvist (Mahindra)
3 February 2018
Santiago E-Prix
Winner: 25-Jean-Eric Vergne (Techeetah)
3 March 2018
Mexico City E-Prix
Mexico City
Winner: 66-Daniel Abt (Audi)
17 March 2018
Punta Del Este E-Prix
Punta Del Este
Winner: 25-Jean-Eric Vergne (Techeetah)
14 April 2018
Rome E-Prix
Winner: 2-Sam Bird (DS Virgin)
28 April 2018
Paris E-Prix
Winner: 25-Jean-Eric Vergne (Techeetah)
19 May 2018
Berlin E-Prix
Winner: 66-Daniel Abt (Audi)
10 June 2018
Swiss E-Prix
Winner: 1-Lucas di Grassi (Audi)
14-15 July 2018
New York City E-Prix
New York