Prototype entries for 2014 announced

December 8, 2013

Prototype entries for 2014 announced

December 8, 2013

prototypesThe prototype competition in the inaugural TUDOR United SportsCar Championship race at the Rolex 24 at Daytona in January will be fought out between 17 cars with series organizers IMSA announcing entries for 2014.

The Prototype class will include an intriguing mix of cars battling for the overall win. The class merges Daytona Prototype (DP) race cars, which previously competed in the GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series, with P2 and DeltaWing prototypes from the American Le Mans Series presented by Tequila Patrón.

“Our Prototype class showcases the merger of the ALMS and the Rolex Series with a variety of terrific cars from both series – in addition to a few new entries,” said IMSA President and Chief Operating Officer Scott Atherton.

A field of 17 Prototypes is expected at the season-opening Rolex 24 At Daytona, with 12 P cars committed to competing in every TUDOR Championship round. The full-time entries include one DP car each from Action Express Racing, Wayne Taylor Racing, Marsh Racing, Michael Shank Racing, Spirit of Daytona Racing and Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates. Extreme Speed Motorsports and SpeedSource each will field a pair of LMP2 cars, with one DeltaWing entry and another entry to be announced shortly.

The highly successful Prototype Challenge class which moves across from the American Le Mans Series has also achieved great interest for 2014.

Entries for the PC battle will include three-time team champion CORE autosport (1), plus BAR1 Motorsports (2), Level 5 Motorsports (2), Performance Tech Motorsports (1), PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports (1), RSR Racing (2), Starworks Motorsport (2), 8Star Motorsports (1). Pickett Racing and JDC-Miller MotorSports are first and second alternate for the secondary prototype division.

“The Prototype Challenge class, meanwhile, not only will expand from our projection earlier this fall, but will include more cars than we saw at any point in the 2013 ALMS season,” Atherton said.

2014 TUDOR United SportsCar Championship Prototype Accepted Entries

Prototype (P) – 17 Entries
Action Express Racing (2),Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates (2), DeltaWing Racing (1), Extreme Speed Motorsports (2), GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Racing (1), Highway To Help (1), Marsh Racing (1), Michael Shank Racing (1), OAK Racing (1), SpeedSource (2), Spirit of Daytona Racing (1), Wayne Taylor Racing (1), TBA (1). First Alternate – 8Star Motorsports, Second Alternate – Starworks Motorsport, Third Alternate – Project Libra.

Prototype Challenge (PC) – 12 Entries
GT Le Mans (GTLM) – 12 Entries
Aston Martin Racing (1), BMW Team RLL (2), Porsche North America (2), Corvette Racing (2), Krohn Racing/Risi Competizione (1), Risi Competizione (1), SRT Motorsports (2), Team Falken Tire (1)

Latest Photos

Latest Video

A memorable IMSA season ended with the excitement of Motul Petit Le Mans

Wednesday October 18, 2023