Mueller scores first IMSA pole

August 6, 2016

Mueller scores first IMSA pole

August 6, 2016


He won the ALMS GT title way back in 2000, scored the pole and won this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans but today Ford Performance Racing’s Dirk Mueller scored his first IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship pole position.

Mueller’s lap of 2:02.451 made him the 20th driver to score a GTLM class pole since the combined IMSA sportscar series began in 2014.

friday_gal_roadam_16_ (16)The Ford racer toppled Porsche North America’s Patrick Pilet who recorded his team’s best qualifying spot since locking out the front row at Daytona in January.

“On the way here, I already knew we were going to be in good shape,” Mueller said.

“I knew the Ford Chip Ganassi Racing team, in combination with Michelin tires, would put us in the position to have some fun.

“Since the first lap here, I could tell we’d have a strong car, but you never know. This morning the competition was really strong and the times were really close. We had to do a tire choice and it looks like we are in a good way here, because if it’s good for today, it’ll be good for tomorrow.”

Mueller’s Ford teammate Ryan Briscoe was third fastest ahead of Ferrari’s Giancarlo Fisichella and Porsche’s Earl Bamber.

Corvette Racing’s Antonio Garcia recovered from a spin coming onto the front straight to be sixth fastest. One second covered the top seven cars down to Corvette’s Oliver Gavin.

The BMW duo of Lucas Luhr and Bill Auberlen had a disappointing session – finishing eighth and ninth.

The GT Daytona pole went to Porsche racer Alex Riberas who beat Audi duo Andrew Davis and Matt Bell to the top spot.


Latest Photos

Latest Video

A memorable IMSA season ended with the excitement of Motul Petit Le Mans

Wednesday October 18, 2023