Michelin Encore: Who’s who in the field

November 5, 2018

Michelin Encore: Who’s who in the field

November 5, 2018

This week’s Michelin IMSA SportsCar Encore will mark the first time IMSA’s LMP3, GT4 and TCR homologated cars will race together in one event. This will also mark the chance for these three types of cars to race with Michelin for the first time under IMSA sanction.

Here’s a quick introduction to some of the teams and drivers you’ll see competing at Sebring International Raceway. Here is the full entry list.


  • Jon Brownson, No. 2 ANSA Motorsports: 2018 MPC class champion, IMSA Prototype Challenge
  • Zacharie Robichon, No. 4 ANSA Motorsports: 2018 Porsche GT3 Canada champion, also won eight races in Porsche GT3 USA. Confirmed in Pfaff Motorsports GT Daytona class Porsche 911 GT3 R in 2019 for WeatherTech Sprint Cup races.
  • Roman De Angelis: No. 13 ANSA Motorsports: Won LMP3 opening race of 2018, second in GT3 Canada and second in GT3 USA points
  • Jan Heylen/Bruno Junqueira, No. 19 Performance Tech Motorsports (right): Performance Tech won LMP3 Masters title in 2018; Heylen and Junqueira are both Champ Car/sports car veterans
  • Kenton Koch, No. 25 P1 Motorsports: Past MX-5 Cup series champion, and a TCR class winner in 2018
  • Katherine Legge, No. 40 Polestar Motor Racing: Second in this year’s IMSA GTD class. Confirmed for full seasons with Meyer Shank Racing and Heinricher Racing, LLC in Acura NSX GT3 Evo and RLL Racing Jaguar in Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY in 2019
  • Patrick Byrne/Guy Cosmo, No. 84 JDC Motorsports. These two won the Asian Le Mans Series LMP3 title last season with Jackie Chan DC Racing. They’ll shift to United Autosports for 2018-’19.


  • James Sofronas/Jason Bell, No. 22 GMG Racing Audi. Sofronas is a sports car driver/principal of GMG, and a class champion in World Challenge Sprint-X this year.
  • Nate Stacy/Kyle Marcelli/Dean Martin, No. 60 KohR Motorsport Ford (right). Stacy and Marcelli were second in the GS standings this year. Martin oversaw the team’s rebuild of a damaged car after practice crash in Road America to prep the car and get it ready for qualifying/race when overnight. Marcelli has past Michelin experience with the PC class in 2010-’12 (two wins in 2011). He won twice this year both in GS and GTD with Lexus.


  • Michael Johnson/Stephen Simpson, No. 54 JDC-Miller Motorsports Audi (right). Simpson won in three types of cars, and three IMSA series, this year. Johnson is paralyzed from the waist down, but races in an adapted car.


IMSA has profiled a number of teams and drivers competing at the Encore. Here are some links out to those.

Latest Photos

Latest Video

61-Car Field Drives a Combined 140,000 miles at 2023 Rolex 24

Friday March 3, 2023