Michelin 2022: Rolex-24 Recap

January 30, 2022

Michelin 2022: Rolex-24 Recap

January 30, 2022

Michelin Kicks off 2022 IMSA Season With Record Success at Rolex 24

  • Multiple lap records in spite of extreme cold track temperatures
  • Michelin averages 5,517 race miles per hour for 24 Hours
  • MSR Acura, Pfaff Porsche, Wright Porsche take Rolex Class wins
  • Dragon Speed USA, Riley Motorsports Claim LMP Honors

Daytona Beach, FL—Jan. 30, 2022 – Michelin delivered an impressive performance of speed and endurance, with an added ability to set multiple lap records in extremely cold race temperatures in the 60th anniversary of the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

The opening race of the 2022 IMSA WeatherTech Championship drew a powerful array of 61 entries and a star-studded line-up of 230 drivers representing 26 countries.

“Seeing the track record broken repeatedly in cold overnight conditions is a tribute to our Michelin engineers, who work hard to deliver versatile tires with a wide range of performance,” said Tony Ménard, director of motorsport, Michelin North America.

With more than 13 hours of the 24-hour race taking place after Saturday’s sunset, Michelin engineers reported overnight temperatures of 31(F) degrees with track temperatures of 33 degrees.

Despite 16 caution periods, the Michelin field completed 37,197 laps, a total of 132,421 miles, or 5,517.55 miles per hour.

Acura Meyer Shank Racing takes overall victory

After being the only DPi class entrant not to win a race in 2021 — the No. 60 Meyer Shank Racing Acura DPi turned the page and won the Rolex 24 with drivers Helio Castroneves, Oliver Jarvis, Simon Pagenaud and Tom Blomqvist. Castroneves led the team to the checkered flag, holding off Ricky Taylor with Acura Wayne Taylor Racing. Finishing third was the Cadillac of JDC Miller Motorsports.

IndyCar rivals team up to win LMP2 class, Riley Motorsports defends LMP3 victory

DragonSpeed USA called on the talents of two IndyCar stars, Patricio O’Ward and Colton Herta, to win Rolex watches. The move paid off with the No. 81 car finishing first with teammates Eric Lux and Devlin Defrancesco. Racing Team Nederland took runner-up and Tower Motorsport finished third.

Riley Motorsports won the LMP3 class for the second time in a row. The team made up of Gar Robinson, Felipe Fraga, Kay Van Berlo and Michael Cooper brought the No. 74 to victory lane. Sean Creech Motorsport placed second and Core Autosport took third.

Porsche Pfaff Motorsport takes GTDPRO debut, Porsche Wright Motorsports triumphs in GTD

The No. 9 Porsche 911 GT3R won the first race of the GTDPRO class in IMSA with a thrilling finish. Mathieu Jaminet and Laurens Vanthoor of Porsche KCMG went toe-to-toe during the final laps. Jaminet joined teammates Matt Campbell and Felipe Nasr in victory lane. Ferrari Risi Competizione crossed the finish line in second while KCMG took the last spot on the podium.

Porsche Wright Motorsports took home Rolex watches with Ryan Hardwick, Zacharie Robichon, Jan Heylen and Richard Lietz. The No. 16 Porsche 911 GT3R beat the No. 44 Magnus Racing Aston Martin Vantage GT3. Finishing third was the No. 32 Mercedes-AMG GT3 of Gilbert Korthoff Motorsports.

Porsche RS1 and Alfa Romeo KMW Motorsports open Michelin Pilot Challenge season with wins

The BMW M Endurance Challenge saw a large 48-car field at Daytona. The race in GS was won by RS1 in a Porsche 718 GT4 RS CS driven by Eric Filgueiras and Stevan McAleer. This was Filgueiras’ first IMSA race ever. McAleer praised Michelin after the race saying, “How we won this race today, comfortably, is that the car didn’t fall off. I am blown away that the Michelin tire could go that long on this car; same brake and turn-in points over the stint.”

The TCR class was conquered by Roy Block and Tim Lewis in an Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce for KMW Motorsports with TMR Engineering. Both these teams took home the IMSA Radio Michelin Moment of the Race as well.

Robert Wickens makes triumphant return to racing with podium finish

The racing world celebrated the Canadian’s return to full-time racing in the Michelin Pilot Challenge. This was Robert Wicken’s first race back since being paralyzed in a crash nearly four years ago. He and teammate Mark Wilkins finished third in the Bryan Herta Autosport Hyundai Elantra N. Michelin spoke to Wickens about his return. Watch here.

Michelin Post-Race Notes

  • Imagine adding up the number of drivers from the Daytona 500, the Indianapolis 500, and the Grand Prix of Monaco. The total would still be less than half the number of drivers competing in the Rolex 24 Hours. Watch the Michelin Tire Tech minute to learn what that means for logistical support.
  • The ‘Démonstrateur 46’ tire was at the Rolex 24 showcasing Michelin’s commitment to sustainability. Learn more about this race tire that contains 46% sustainable materials by watching here
  • Four new qualifying and race records were set over the Roar and Rolex 24 weekends. Rene Rast set a new mark in LMP2 qualifying for G-Drive Racing By APR with a 1:35.789 lap. Alex Palou with Cadillac Chip Ganassi Racing set a race record in DPi with a 1:33.724 lap. The LMP2 race record was broken by Paul-Loup Chatin No.18 Era Motorsport with a 1:35.532 lap. Felipe Fraga set a new race record in LMP3 with a 1:42.133 lap for Riley Motorsports.

Next up:

  • The 2022 IMSA WeatherTech Sports Car Championship now heads to Florida for the 70th Annual Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring on Saturday, March 19th. The race can be seen in its entirety on Peacock and on USA from 3:30pm-10:30pm.

Latest Photos

Latest Video

Kellymoss provides drivers a path to the IMSA WeatherTech Championship

Friday August 25, 2023