Michelin 2021 Six Hour Watkins Glen Post-Race

June 27, 2021

Michelin 2021 Six Hour Watkins Glen Post-Race

June 27, 2021

Michelin Delivers Latest Endurance Success

One of the fastest circuits in endurance racing became even more demanding on a hot, sunny day, as Michelin met and exceeded every challenge at the Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen.

“We are pleased to have provided the IMSA WeatherTech, Michelin Pilot Challenge and Porsche Carrera Cup North America teams with very strong tire performance on such a demanding circuit,” said Tony Ménard, Michelin North America director of motorsport. “Delivering strong, lasting performance over time is essential both in endurance racing and for consumers,” said Ménard.

The third of four 2021 IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup events, the six-hour race on the Watkins Glen International 3.4-mile circuit features fast, long duration corners and 141 feet of elevation changes. Track temperature rose to more than 110 degrees.

The winner of the past 23 consecutive 24 Hours of Le Mans races, Michelin is the official tire of IMSA and the Michelin Endurance Cup. The fourth and final Endurance Cup event of the 2021 season, the ten-hour Motul Petit Le Mans will be held at Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta on November 13.

Mazda Repeats

Mazda Motorsports returned to New York as defending overall champions of the Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen. Their 2019 win marked the first for the Mazda program in IMSA. The No.55 Mazda RT24-P piloted by Harry Tincknell, Jonathan Bomarito and Oliver Jarvis took the lead this year with about 30 minutes left in the race through pit strategy during a yellow flag.

Tincknell then saved enough fuel to hold off the No. 60 Acura ARX-05 Meyer Shank Racing w/Curb-Agajanian run by Olivier Pla and Dane Cameron by .965 of a second. The No.10 Konica Minolta Acura ARX-05 driven by Ricky Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Alexander Rossi rounded out the DPi class podium.

Corvette Racing, Turner BMW Take GT Honors

In GTLM, the No. 3 Corvette Racing team with drivers Antonio Garcia and Jordan Taylor took the win by .845 of a second over the BMW Team RLL entry of John Edwards, Jesse Krohn and Augusta Farfus. Their BMW Team RLL teammates Connor De Philippi, Philipp Eng and Bruno Spengler completed the podium in third place.

Turner Motorsports led the way in the big GTD Class as Bill Auberlen, Robey Foley and Aidan Read won by 5.747 seconds aboard their BMW M6 GT3. Taking second was the Paul Miller Racing Lamborghini Huracán driven by Bryan Sellers, Madison Snow, and Corey Lewis. The No. 23 Heart of Racing Team raced by Ross Gunn and Roman De Angelis finished third.

LMP2, LMP3 Honors Go to WIN Autosport, Riley Motorsports 

Win Autosport went to victory lane in the LMP2 class. The No. 11 ORECA 07 Gibson run by Steven Thomas, Tristan Nunez and Thomas Merrill crossed the finish line 1.139 seconds ahead of PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports car No.52 driven by Ben Keating, Mikkel Jensen, and Scott Huffaker. Third place was taken by the No. 22 United Autosports USA team with drivers James McGuire, Wayne Boyd and Guy Smith.

Drivers Felipe Fraga, Scott Andrews, and Gar Robinson led Riley Motorsports to a first-place finish in the #74 Ligier JS P320 VK in the LMP3 class. Finishing second, just 1.635 seconds behind was the No. 54 Core Autosport team of Colin Braun, Jonathon Bennett and George Kurtz. Riley Motorsports claimed another spot on the podium as the No. 91 driven by Jim Cox, Dylan Murry and Jeroen Bleekemolen finished third.

Michelin Post-Race Notes

  • Saturday’s IMSA MICHELIN® Pilot Challenge Tioga Downs Casino Resort was won by Stevan McAleer and Patrick Gallagher in the No.23 Notlad Racing by RS1 Aston Martin. The two brought the special Eddie Van Halen livery to victory lane in the GS class. The TCR class saw Ryan Eversley and Todd Lamb take the win in the 94 Atlanta Speedwerks Honda Civic FK7 TCR.
  • The IMSA Radio Moment of the Race came with three minutes and 38 seconds left in the race. McAleer passed Bill Auberlen in the famous Bus Stop to take the lead. He held off Auberlen and crossed the finish line 1.073 seconds ahead.
  • The weekend featured two Porsche Carrera Cup races both won by Kay van Berlo in a Porsche 992.
  • Five new IMSA track lap records were set over the Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen weekend. Qualifying records included GS, TCR, and LMP3 while race records were set in TCR and LMP3.

Next Up:

The 2021 IMSA WeatherTech Sports Car Championship returns to Watkins Glen International to race on Friday in the WeatherTech 240 at the Glen. The race starts at 6:10 pm and will air on NBCSN.

Latest Photos

Latest Video

Kellymoss provides drivers a path to the IMSA WeatherTech Championship

Friday August 25, 2023