Le Mans 24 – Audi wins!

June 12, 2011

Le Mans 24 – Audi wins!

June 12, 2011

Audi has triumphed in the 2011 24 Hours of Le Mans with Andre Lotterer, Benoit Treluyer and Marcel Fassler taking victory in the sole remaining Audi Sport entry.

The trio finished only a mere 13.854 seconds ahead of Simon Pagenaud, Sebastien Bourdais and Pedro Lamy’s Peugeot.

The leading Audi and Peugeot made their final pit stop with only 30 minutes remaining – Peugeot able to close the gap to after electing to not take fresh tires.

Simon Pagenaud closed the gab to 6.4 seconds but Lotterer was able to extend that out to 13.854 seconds at the checkered flag.

The Audi victory came after the #2 car became the sole remaining Ingolstadt factory entry after two enormous crashes suffered by Allan McNish and Mike Rockenfeller.

Corvette Racing made a stunning comeback to clinch victory in the GTE Pro division – coming from a lap down to score the win for Olivier Beretta, Tommy Milner and Antonio Garcia.

The win was Corvette’s seventh class win at Le Mans for the US team. With Chevrolet celebrating its 100th anniversary, it was fitting that the Corvette would win again – 10 years after its first Le Mans class victory.

The win was the first at Le Mans for Tommy Milner – the talented American making his Corvette debut this year.

Olivier Lombard took an dominant victory in LMP2 for the #41 Greaves Motorsport Zytek-Nissan. Teamed with Tom Kimber-Smith, Karim Ojjeh – the combination won by a massive seven lap margin.

Soheil Ayari in the #26 Signatech Nissan took the flag in second in LMP2, less than one lap clear of American Le Mans Series regular – the #33 Level 5 Motorsports Lola-HPD.

Larbre Competition scored the GTE-Am class victory while one of the most popular podium results was the Robertson Racing Ford. American Le Mans Series regulars David and Andrea Robertson teamed with David Murry to take third.

The result was a perfect way for the husband and wife team owners to celebrate their wedding anniversary.

Latest Photos

Latest Video

A memorable IMSA season ended with the excitement of Motul Petit Le Mans

Wednesday October 18, 2023