Le Mans 2030 – Challenge Design winners revealed

October 20, 2016

Le Mans 2030 – Challenge Design winners revealed

October 20, 2016


In collaboration with the Automobile Club de l’Ouest, Michelin today announced the winners of the global 2017 Michelin Challenge Design, “Le Mans 2030: Design for the Win.”

Michelin_challenge_design_posterWorks by individuals and teams of designers from Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Czech Republic, India, Portugal and Russia were among the winners and finalists selected by a distinguished jury of the world’s top automotive designers and industry experts.

The three winning designs, seven finalists and 10 honorable mentions were chosen from more than 1,600 registrants representing 80 countries. Over 16 years, Michelin Challenge Design has received a total of 9,901 entries from 123 countries.

“The winners of our 2017 Michelin Challenge Design presented numerous highly innovative features for the Le Mans race in the year 2030 and the quality of work from this year’s entries was truly outstanding,” said Thom Roach, vice president of original-equipment marketing for Michelin North America.

“We congratulate the winners for their thought-provoking, visually captivating designs for the world’s greatest endurance race, Le Mans 24 Hours.”

Winners of the 2017 Michelin Challenge Design:

  • First place: Tao Ni of Wuhu, China, for design entry “Infiniti Le Mans 2030”
  • Second place: Daniel Bacelar Pereira of Vila Real, Portugal, for “Bentley 9 Plus Michelin Battery Slick”
  • Third place: Kurt Scanlan of Toronto, Canada for “Cierzo C1”

Finalists of the 2017 Michelin Challenge Design (in alphabetical order):

  • Mehdi Alamdari and Vahid Shahvirdi of Victoria, Australia, for design entry “Audi R28”
  • Carlos Eduardo de Carvalho of Sao Paulo, Brazil, for “Embraer P1 Phenom Hybrid with Michelin Tire Wings”
  • Josh Gadomski of Caledon Village, Ontario, Canada, for “Hydracross”
  • Guilherme Kataoka, Luiz Ortega and Marcelo Toledo of Sao Paulo, Brazil for “Bentley Speed X”
  • Vruttant S. Phatak of Maharashtra, India, for “Neuraura”
  • Vladislav Semenov and Maria Ryadno of St. Petersburg, Russia, for “Bugatti Wimille”
  • David Voltner of Zlin, Czech Republic, for “Citroën C030 LMP1”

“The Le Mans 24 Hours race has always been the theater of the greatest innovations for the motor car that are tried and tested during the mythical race for series production vehicles. The Michelin Challenge Design fits perfectly into our ongoing innovative process with Michelin, one of the Le Mans 24 Hours’ historic partners,” said Pierre Fillon, president of Automobile Club de l’Ouest.

“I can understand how difficult it was for the judges to decide among the candidates given the quality of work sent in for the competition, which aims to predict what kind of car will race in the 2030 Le Mans 24 Hours.”

Latest Photos

Latest Video

A memorable IMSA season ended with the excitement of Motul Petit Le Mans

Wednesday October 18, 2023