IMSA Points Updates after Lime Rock

July 24, 2019

IMSA Points Updates after Lime Rock

July 24, 2019

Second on the road but first in the points was the story for IMSA’s two class leading cars in GT at Lime Rock Park.


Earl Bamber and Laurens Vanthoor scored a solid runner-up finish in their No. 912 Porsche 911 RSR. Aided with a race where teammates Patrick Pilet and Nick Tandy finished only fourth, Bamber and Vanthoor now hold an eight-point championship lead in GT Le Mans.

Two-time defending champions Antonio Garcia and Jan Magnussen sit third, 17 points back. Porsche still holds a 24-point lead in the GTLM manufacturer standings.


A similar story applies in GT Daytona. Thanks to their fourth straight top-two finish in full-season GTD races, Meyer Shank Acura’s Trent Hindman and Mario Farnbacher have extended their lead in this class to 30 points.

With their third straight podium, Turner Motorsport’s Robby Foley and Bill Auberlen now sit second in points. Acura leads Lexus by seven and Lamborghini by eight points among manufacturers.

The WeatherTech Sprint Cup points in GTD are tighter. Farnbacher, Hindman and Patrick Long are tied with 116 points. Jack Hawksworth and Richard Heistand sit second, just two points back. Zacharie Robichon, who shared the winning Pfaff Porsche at Lime Rock, is third and four points back.


The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship leaders consolidated their leads. However in the IMSA MICHELIN Pilot Challenge, both GS and TCR have new leaders leaving Lime Rock.

With their fifth straight top-four finish, Carbahn Audi’s Tyler McQuarrie and Jeff Westphal now lead GS in their No. 39 Audi R8 LMS GT4. The pairing holds a three-point gap over Devin Jones and James Clay in their No. 82 Bimmerworld BMW M4 GT4. MIA Racing is third, nine points back, with Jesse Lazare and Corey Fergus in the No. 69 McLaren 570S GT4. Just six points covers Mercedes-AMG, Audi and BMW among GS manufacturers.

Bryan Herta Autosport Hyundai’s Mark Wilkins and Michael Lewis took over the TCR points lead with their win. The duo in the No. 98 Hyundai Veloster N TCR hold a 10-point gap over L.A. Honda World’s Shelby Blackstock and Tom O’Gorman in the No. 37 Civic Type R. Two pairings are tied for third. Among manufacturers, seven points cover Honda, Audi and Hyundai.

Latest Photos

Latest Video

Kellymoss provides drivers a path to the IMSA WeatherTech Championship

Friday August 25, 2023