Ganassi and Corvette take Long Beach wins

April 12, 2014

Ganassi and Corvette take Long Beach wins

April 12, 2014

Yesterday’s pole winners here in Long Beach today continued that pace with Chip Ganassi Racing and Corvette Racing taking victory in the Prototype and GT Le Mans categories.

Ganassi’s Memo Rojas led from the start and only relinquished the lead during the pit stops at the mid-way point. Scott Pruett quickly found a way back past Joao Barbosa so the No.01 Riley Ford was credited with leading every lap of the race but one.

Pruett and Rojas led home brothers Ricky and Jordan Taylor with Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi taking third.

Antonio Garcia made good use of the pole effort from Jan Magnussen in GTLM yesterday to jump past the prototype of Ed Brown at the green flag.

With Brown struggling for pace, Garcia was able to open up a large margin which extended out to as much as 12 seconds during the race. After handing over to Magnussen, the Dane was able to manage the lead to through the finish to take the first TUDOR United SportsCar Championship win for Corvette Racing and the first win for the new C7.R Corvette.

Second was the BMW of Dirk Mueller and John Edwards with the fast finishing Corvette of Tommy Milner and Oliver Gavin in third.

The victory for Corvette was its 10th in the last 22 races in the US – going back to Long Beach 2012.

The race remarkably went flag to flag without a yellow flag.

More details to follow….

Top three in class:
(1) #01-P Scott Pruett (Riley DP Ford EcoBoost) 77 laps
(2) #10-P Jordan Taylor (Corvette DP) 77 laps (0.759- in class) (0.759- overall)
(3) #5-P Joao Barbosa (Corvette DP) 77 laps (4.251- in class) (4.251- overall)

(8) #3-GTLM Jan Magnussen (Chevrolet Corvette C7.R) 75 laps (-2 Laps overall)
(9) #56-GTLM Dirk Mueller (BMW Z4 GTE) 75 laps (5.408- in class) (-2 Laps overall)
(10) #4-GTLM Tommy Milner (Chevrolet Corvette C7.R) 75 laps (5.681- in class) (-2 Laps overall)

Latest Photos

Latest Video

Kellymoss provides drivers a path to the IMSA WeatherTech Championship

Friday August 25, 2023