Fred Makowiecki is lucky No.13

March 21, 2015

Fred Makowiecki is lucky No.13

March 21, 2015


Frenchman Fred Makowiecki joined the elite TUDOR United SportsCar Championship GTLM pole winner’s club yesterday, become the 13th member of an exclusive society.

sebring_fri_gal3_march20_15_2 (1)Remarkably in the 13 races staged since the championship debuted last year, 13 different drivers have scored the pole in the class.

There is potential for the club to grow further. Makowiecki, Jan Magnussen, Antonio Garcia, Nick Tandy, Michael Christensen, Andy Priaulx, John Edwards, Marc Goossens, Kuno Wittmer, Jonathan Bomarito, Giancarlo Fisichella, Pierre Kaffer and Oliver Gavin have scored poles so far.

The list of guys who haven’t taken pole in the series is equally impressive. We have race winners, factory drivers and multiple past champions including the likes of Tommy Milner, Bill Auberlen, Jorg Bergmeister, Patrick Pilet, Dirk Werner, Lucas Luhr, Brian Sellers and Wolf Henzler who have yet to top the timesheet in qualifying.

In fact with eight races remaining – the streak could continue all year.

When it comes to bragging rights for the fastest lap of the race, we’ve actually had 11 different drivers in 12 races take the honor. Only Risi Ferrari ace Giancarlo Fisichella has ruined the record taking fastest race lap at Indianapolis and VIR last year.

Michelin - Post Sebring-postingPole man Makowiecki will line up today with Jorg Bergmeister and Earl Bamber in the No.912 Porsche. He’ll be joined on the front row by the Patrick Pilet, Nick Tandy and Richard Lietz combination in the No.911 machine.

Bergmeister won here last year aboard the No.912 machine with Michael Christensen and Patrick Long.

Makowiecki made his debut in the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship at the Circuit of The Americas round last year – doing double duty while also racing in the FIA WEC race.

Michelin Alley caught up with the talented Frenchman after his pole winning performance yesterday. Click below to listen……

Latest Photos

Latest Video

A memorable IMSA season ended with the excitement of Motul Petit Le Mans

Wednesday October 18, 2023