Formula E unveils calendar

September 30, 2013

Formula E unveils calendar

September 30, 2013


The calendar for the inaugural season of Formula E has been revealed with Los Angeles and Miami confirmed as two of the global cites for the new all-electric open wheel championship.

The inaugural calendar was recently proposed to the FIA during its World Motor Sport Council in Dubrovnik, Croatia, and will run from September 2014 to June 2015. Beijing will have the honor of hosting the world’s first fully-electric race while London is set to stage the season finale (Round 10) on 27th June 2015.

Los Angeles and Miami will run back-to-back on the inaugural calendar with LA scheduled for February 14, 2015 and Miami on April 18, 2015.

Three new venues have been added from the original list of cities which was announced earlier this year. Uruguay’s picturesque beach resort of Punta del Este, the glamorous harbor of Monte Carlo and one of the world’s leading financial centres Hong Kong. These replace Rome, Rio de Janeiro and Bangkok which will instead be considered as candidate cities for the coming Formula E seasons.

The provisional calendar will be finalized and confirmed during the December FIA World Motor Sport Council meeting.

“We’re very excited to be revealing our provisional calendar today and thankful to all the cities that have agreed to host our Formula E races, as well as those that had shown interest,” said Alejandro Agag, CEO of Championship promoters Formula E Holdings.

“Since launching the Championship last year we have received formal offers from more than 25 cities all over the world making choosing just 10 very difficult indeed.

“Today’s provisional calendar sees us race in the heart of some of the most well-known cities in the world providing a fantastic backdrop and showcasing electric vehicles in their favored urban environments. We will now focus on finalizing the design of each of the circuits as well as working closely with all our partners to ensure we deliver each of these events in the most sustainable way possible.”

All Formula E events will feature a free practice session, qualifying session, one-hour race and live music concert taking place in a single day (Saturday) in order to minimize disruption to the city and its surrounding areas. Precise circuit layouts for each venue will be revealed at a later stage but all will use city-centre locations.

Formula E is a new FIA championship featuring Formula cars powered exclusively by electric energy – representing a vision for the future and serving as a framework for research and development around the electric vehicle. For the first season only, all 10 teams – each with two drivers – will compete using the new Spark-Renault SRT_01E car, unveiled earlier this month at the Frankfurt Motor Show.

All cars in championship will utilize a new unique Michelin grooved tire which will be used in both wet and dry conditions.

2014/2015 FIA Formula E Championship – Provisional Calendar

Round 1 – Beijing, China* – 20th September 2014
Round 2 – Putrajaya, Malaysia – 18th October 2014
Round 3 – Hong Kong, China – 8th November 2014
Round 4 – Punta del Este, Uruguay – 13th December 2014
Round 5 – Buenos Aires, Argentina – 10th January 2015
Round 6 – Los Angeles, USA – 14th February 2015
Round 7 – Miami, USA – 18th April 2015
Round 8 – Monte Carlo, Monaco* – 9th May 2015
Round 9 – Berlin, Germany – 30th May 2015
Round 10- London, UK – 27th June 2015

*Subject to ASN approval
All events remain subject to FIA Track Homologation.


Latest Photos

Latest Video

61-Car Field Drives a Combined 140,000 miles at 2023 Rolex 24

Friday March 3, 2023