Formula E calendar revealed

December 5, 2013

Formula E calendar revealed

December 5, 2013

fiaFE_calendarThe new FIA Formula E Championship has locked in its inaugural 2014/2015 calendar featuring 10 city-centre events spanning four continents.

The calendar was submitted to the FIA during its World Motor Sport Council in Paris, France, and will run from September 2014 to June 2015. Beijing will remain as the host venue for the world’s first ever fully-electric race commencing on 13th September 2014 – one week earlier than previously planned.

The new championship will feature electric powered single seaters with teams competing on specially developed Michelin grooved tires which will be use in both wet and dry conditions.

rioAfter the opening round in Beijing, the 10 teams and 20 drivers will remain in Asia for Round two at Putrajaya in Malaysia on 18th October 2014. Round three will now see the championship head to Rio de Janeiro (pictured right), the capital city of the State of Rio de Janeiro and the second largest city of Brazil. Rio replaces Hong Kong which will instead be considered as a candidate city for the following Formula E seasons.

The North American leg will form rounds six and seven with Los Angeles on 14th February 2015 and Miami now brought forward to 14th March 2015.

“It’s a great feeling to be able to confirm our calendar for the inaugural Formula E season and we’re very thankful to all the cities, and candidate cities, for showing their commitment to sustainable mobility,” Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E Holdings, said.

“The level of interest we have received from cities all over the globe has been overwhelming and choosing the final 10 has been a challenging and meticulous process. We’re confident our final 10 cities will provide an array of fantastic backdrops to showcase electric cars in their favoured urban environments, as well as allow us to put on a great spectacle for the fans.”

All Formula E events will feature a free practice session, qualifying session, one-hour race and live music concert taking place in a single day (Saturday) in order to minimise disruption to the city and its surrounding areas. Precise circuit layouts for each venue will be revealed at a later stage but all will use city-centre locations. Tickets for the first rounds will go on sale in 2014.

2014/2015 FIA Formula E Championship – Calendar:

Round 1 – Beijing, China, 13th September 2014
Round 2 – Putrajaya, Malaysia, 18th October 2014
Round 3 – Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 15th November 2014
Round 4 – Punta del Este, Uruguay, 13th December 2014
Round 5 – Buenos Aires, Argentina, 10th January 2015
Round 6 – Los Angeles, USA, 14th February 2015
Round 7 – Miami, USA , 14th March 2015
Round 8 – Monte Carlo, Monaco, 9th May 2015
Round 9 – Berlin, Germany, 30th May 2015
Round 10 – London, UK, 27th June 2015

Latest Photos

Latest Video

61-Car Field Drives a Combined 140,000 miles at 2023 Rolex 24

Friday March 3, 2023