Drivers confirmed for Formula E seats

May 20, 2016

Drivers confirmed for Formula E seats

May 20, 2016

fe_long_beach_gal_race_34With the action in Germany for this weekend’s FIA Formula E about to kick off, four of the prime race seats in the championship have already been locked in for season three.

Both Renault e.dams and Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport have confirmed Sebastien Buemi and Nico Prost plus Lucas di Grassi and Daniel Abt for the 2016/17 season.

All four have been leading contenders in the championship and race winners. di Grassi leads the 2015/16 points with three races remaining.

“As a team, we are currently enjoying a unique period in Formula E – we celebrate victories and overcome the setbacks together as a team. All this makes us even stronger,” said di Grassi.

“I’m looking forward to the future together with Daniel alongside – but now it’s all about being totally focused for the last three races of this season.”

fe_long_beach_gal_race_21Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport will be on home soil or the  team this weekend in downtown Berlin.

Di Grassi has won four races over the past two seasons for the German team, and is currently leading the 2015/16 standings, while Abt has taken two podiums and a pole position during his career in the all-electric championship.

Swiss racer Buemi is 11 points behind di Grassi with this weekend’s race plus the London double header remaining.

“Knowing I will be in the Renault e.dams car next year is a definite boost at this point in the year,” Sebastien Buemi said.

“I’m totally focussed on winning the title this season and knowing that I will be around to potentially defend it is very motivating. We’ve got a good thing going: the team has gelled well together, we have strong solid support from Renault and Nico and I are very complementary.

“Keeping this going as the championship grows is a real positive for the team.”

Second generation racer Nico Prost took his first FIA Formula E last year when the series made its US debut at Miami.

“Renault e.dams is definitely amongst the top Formula E teams, no question,” Prost said.

The technical commitment from Renault e.dams works extremely well and we have one of the quickest cars in the field, if not the quickest. I’m sure we will carry the momentum forward into the next season so I’m really pleased to be able to continue with the team for a third year.”

The Berlin ePrix has switched venues for season two. With the Tempelhof Airport facility unavailable, a new track has been created in the Mitte district of the German capital. The 1.2 mile track, which has historic Alexanderplatz and the TV tower as a stunning backdrop features 11 turns and winds its way around Strausberger Platz and towards Alexanderplatz with the pitlane on Karl-Marx-Allee.

The season one German race was won by di Grassi on the road, but he was disqualified for a technical infringement, handing victory to Jerome D’Ambrosio.

Latest Photos

Latest Video

Michelin wraps up IMSA west coast swing with excitement

Monday May 15, 2023