Corvette goes for ‘the Sebring quartet’

March 5, 2018

Corvette goes for ‘the Sebring quartet’

March 5, 2018

For Corvette Racing, this year’s Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring has the chance to be extra special.

The team, now in its 20th season of professional sports car competition, is going for its fourth straight Sebring victory.

Such a win would be Corvette’s 12th in class at Sebring. Nine of the previous 11 have come with Michelin tires, with 2004 the first of those.

Corvette won four in a row once before, from 2006 through 2009. The 2006 win was the first at Sebring for the GT1-spec C6R, while the 2009 win was the last Sebring triumph for Corvette’s last GT1-iteration vehicle.

Corvette’s venerable C7.R has now swept the last three Sebring races from 2015 through 2017, in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship’s GT Le Mans class.

In both 2015 and 2016, the same trio of drivers that won at Daytona also won at Sebring. Last year’s memorable final stint from Antonio Garcia helped propel the No. 3 Corvette to the win over close rivals Ford and Porsche, also Michelin technical partner teams.

Garcia, Jan Magnussen and Mike Rockenfeller go for their own personal repeat this week, while the sister No. 4 car of Oliver Gavin, Tommy Milner and Marcel Fassler will try to reprise their 2016 win.

Provided he starts, Magnussen will equal Johnny O’Connell’s mark of 20 consecutive Sebring races.

“Early on when we started here, this was our Bermuda Triangle. Back in 1999 and 2000, we couldn’t do anything right here. No matter what we did, it turned out to be disastrous,” said Corvette Racing program manager Doug Fehan.

“But as usual, we kept our shoulder to the wheel, heads down and have developed a pretty good relationship with the track right now.

“The cars like it here. This is a very difficult racetrack from the standpoint of durability and reliability, everybody knows that. If you can win here in 12 hours, you can win anyplace with the car.”

Sebring is also a special place for Corvette Racing because of its relationship with oil partner Mobil 1. The race’s title sponsor traditionally hosts a Thursday dinner before night practice, which celebrates the partnership.

If Corvette can win this year, the team will have a 60 percent strike rate at Sebring in 20 years.


  • 2002: GTS, No. 3 Corvette C5-R (O’Connell/Fellows/Gavin)
  • 2003: GTS, No. 3 Corvette C5-R (O’Connell/Fellows/Freon)
  • 2004: GTS, No. 3 Corvette C5-R (O’Connell/Fellows/Papis)
  • 2006: GT1, No. 4 Corvette C6R (Magnussen/Gavin/Beretta)
  • 2007: GT1, No. 4 Corvette C6R (Gavin/Beretta/Papis)
  • 2008: GT1, No. 3 Corvette C6R (Magnussen/O’Connell/Fellows)
  • 2009: GT1, No. 3 Corvette C6R (Magnussen/O’Connell/Garcia)
  • 2013: GT, No. 4 Corvette C6.R (Gavin/Milner/Westbrook)
  • 2015: GTLM, No. 3 Corvette C7.R (Magnussen/Garcia/Briscoe)
  • 2016: GTLM, No. 4 Corvette C7.R (Gavin/Milner/Fassler)
  • 2017: GTLM, No. 3 Corvette C7.R (Magnussen/Garcia/Rockenfeller)

Latest Photos

Latest Video

Michelin wraps up IMSA west coast swing with excitement

Monday May 15, 2023