CORE chasing title number four

October 1, 2014

CORE chasing title number four

October 1, 2014

CORE_daytona_winThey are already making room on the trophy shelves at CORE autosport in Rock Hill, SC as team owner Jon Bennett and co-driver Colin Braun have locked up their first driver title on the strength of seven podium finishes, including four PC class wins.

Racing identical single specification Oreca prototypes, the well matched competition in PC class puts a heavy premium on consistency, driver performance and race strategies. Teams match their Amateur driver with a top Pro and work diligently to improve the pace and consistency on the amateur side as the Pros tend be quite evenly matched.

CORE has claimed the PC class Team Championship in each of the past three seasons and will look to secure a fourth here at Petit Le Mans. They hold a narrow 11 point edge on the fast closing 8Star Motorsports team with drivers Luis Diaz and Sean Rayhall who have taken the PC wins in the last two races.

Drivers Renger van der Zande and Mirco Shultis of Starworks Motorsport have also delivered a pair of wins to place them third in the Team championship with a shot to catch the 8Star squad for second place.

Currently fourth in the Driver and Team standings with a podium at Watkins Glen and four fourth place finishes are drivers Gunnar Jeannette and Frankie Montecalvo of PR1/Mathiesen Motorsports.

RSR Racing stands fifth with a win at Indianapolis for Chris Cumming and Jack Hawksworth and a pair of second place finishes for Bruno Junqueira and Duncan Ende.

Latest Tweets

Latest Photos

Latest Video

Sebring 12 race recap

Monday March 19, 2018