Cameron & Curran win again

August 7, 2016

Cameron & Curran win again

August 7, 2016


Action Express Racing continued its run of success in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship at Road America today with its third consecutive 1-2 finish  – a track where young star Dane Cameron continues to shine at.

Cameron and Eric Curran took their second consecutive Road America win and their second consecutive series victory, backing up their recent win from Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.

For Cameron, it was his third win here in a row. He won in the GTD class in a BMW in 2014 and also held a commanding lead in the Grand-Am Rolex Series race here in 2013 before suffering a gearbox issue.

dane002“Road America is somewhere I’ve always loved coming to,” Cameron said.

“I think the first time I came here was 2002 when I came here with my dad just cruising around in the golf cart, probably at a Toyota Atlantic race.

“I raced here and won here in 2006. It races really well so it’s a lot of fun, especially in the long endurance races. I’m not sure why I’ve had so much success here, but I’ll take it.”

Christian Fittipaldi and Joao Barbosa took second. The Brazilian/Portuguese duo have finished first, second and second in the past three races and now lead their teammates by a single championship point.

Cameron was able to hold on for the victory despite the late race restart.

“It’s certainly not your favorite thing watching a restart,” Cameron said.

“Every time it gets bunched up and things get sparked up it’s always exciting. I was able to get a good restart and keep it going.

“I had a little scare where I lost the dash, and wasn’t able to read anything to know if I was saving fuel or not. But then the yellow came out and the dash came back, and luckily we didn’t have to save any fuel after that.

“It’s great to see what this team has done since building it up since 2010. And you can see what we’ve come to in the last few weekends.”

Jordan and Ricky Taylor took third to claim a Corvette Daytona Prototype sweep.

Mazda’s hopes of victory fell short when their chosen strategy came up short for the Tristan Nunez / Jonathan Bomarito entry.

The PC class victory was claimed by Tom Kimber-Smith and Robert Alon ahead of Colin Braun and Jon Bennett.



Latest Photos

Latest Video

Kellymoss provides drivers a path to the IMSA WeatherTech Championship

Friday August 25, 2023