Anyone’s race at CTMP

July 9, 2017

Anyone’s race at CTMP

July 9, 2017

With all four IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship GTLM manufacturers in the top five in morning warm-up, the field is as wide open as ever for today’s race at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park.

It was the first session of the weekend not led by the pole-sitting Porsche team, giving BMW’s Martin Tomczyk the honor of topping the timesheets in the No. 24.

Porsche could only manage fourth on the charts, with second and third going to the No. 3 and No. 4 Corvette C7.Rs. Richard Westbrook in the No. 67 Ford GT rounded out the top five, just 0.433 of a second back.

In addition to the close times in practice, each team is riding its own wave of momentum into the race. Porsche led every Friday and Saturday session and qualified on pole. Ford is going for their second consecutive win at CTMP. Corvette is currently leading the championship. And BMW is coming off their first victory with the M6 GTLM last weekend at Watkins Glen.

With the competition so close across the entire class, any of the eight GTLM cars have a shot at glory at the Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix.

The eight cars and sixteen drivers will not only be racing against each other in Canada, but against the weather. With the chance of rain hovering around 35% for the duration of the race, the two hour and 40 minute sprint could become a damp endeavor, especially treacherous on a fast, historic circuit.

“This is a racetrack for the truly courageous,” Dirk Werner, driver of the No. 911 Porsche 911 RSR and pole-sitter for today’s race, said.

“Many of the fast corners practically run into each other so that you have no chance to catch your breath. You have to be totally focused the whole time. It’s great fun driving the 911 RSR there.”

Sunday’s Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix will be shown live at 12:00 PM ET on Fox Sports 1 and Fox Sports Go with FS1 authentication. International audiences can watch on


Latest Tweets

Latest Photos

Latest Video

Sebring 12 race recap

Monday March 19, 2018