Action Express take Sebring win

March 22, 2015

Action Express take Sebring win

March 22, 2015


Action Express Racing continued its amazing record at Sebring today. The team not only recorded its first 12 Hours of Sebring victory but continued its run of completing every single lap run in the history of the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship since the series’ first race in January last year.

action_sebring_win3Joao Barbosa, Christian Fittipaldi and Sebastien Bourdais combined to lead a Corvette Daytona Prototype 1-2-3 result.

Wayne Taylor Racing and Visit racing completed the podium – the Taylor squad fighting back after early race brake issues.

“It was very special to check this one off the list as well,” Barbosa said.

“We couldn’t have done it without a flawless car. We have covered over 10,000 miles of racing so far. It’s pretty amazing what theses guys are doing at the shop to give us this car. It’s unbelievable to be able to do fast laps at the end of the stint.

“The car was consistent, it was still improving over the length of the race. It was pretty difficult with the heat, but I think the Corvette team has to be pretty happy with the results. Last year we won the championship and we’re here to prove that we’ll give a hard time to anyone who wants to take that away from us.”

The race was dominated early by the Le Mans-style P2 machines with Krohn Racing’s Olivier Pla dominant in the opening hour.

action_sebring_win2Each of the four major contenders Krohn Racing (pit lane contact and exhaust issues), Michael Shank Racing (crash) and Patrón Racing ESM (steering issues on the No.1 entry and turbo boost on the No.2) all struck trouble throughout the day.

“When you qualify a second off the pole, its always a concern,” Barbosa said.

“We knew the P2 cars would be fast, but in the back of our mind, we know that we race harder than we qualify. And the P2 teams keep shooting themselves in the foot.

“It takes a big team effort, not just a fast car. We worked all through the conditions today – in the heat and in the night. We kept our nose clean like we needed to to win today. We keep moving on and think about the next one. Monday we’ll get back to work and see where we can improve.”

The other prototype battle in the PC class was won by the PR1 Motorsports entry of Tom Kimber-Smith, Andrew Palmer and Mike Guasch who led home CORE autosport’s Jon Bennett, Colin Braun and James Gue.

Latest Photos

Latest Video

Kellymoss provides drivers a path to the IMSA WeatherTech Championship

Friday August 25, 2023