Action Express and Dodge Viper take Indy

July 25, 2014

Action Express and Dodge Viper take Indy

July 25, 2014

indy_race_gal 29
Action Express Racing jumped into the championship lead in the prototype class and Kuno Wittmer and Jonathan Bomarito continued their Viper championship chase with victories in the Brickyard Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway today.

Christian Fittipaldi and Joao Barbosa took the overall win and the championship lead with their second win of the year – backing up their Rolex 24 at Daytona victory.

While many of the prototypes were forced to stop late for a splash of fuel, race leader Barbosa was able to hold on to take a dominant 48 second victory ahead of Scott Pruett/Sage Karam and Richard Westbrook/Michael Valiante.

Wittmer, Bomarito and the No.93 Team SRT Viper have now finished 3rd, 2nd and 1st in the past three races. The victory was the first for Wittmer and Bomarito and pushed them into second place in the championship.

Risi Competizione Ferrari had its best finish of the year with second for Giancarlo Fisichella and Pierre Kaffer after starting from pole and third went to the Porsche of Patrick Long and Michael Christensen.

The Porsche team suffered heartache with Nick Tandy was forced to retire the No.911 Porsche with engine issues while leading the race.

GTLM championship leaders Jan Magnussen and Antonio Garcia fought back to finish 4th – ending their four races in a row winning streak. Magnussen was spun early in the race by a GTD car which bounced off a kerb into his path as the Dane was passing on the outside.

Other class winners included RSR Racing in PC which went 1-2. Chris Cumming took the victory with IndyCar rookie Jack Hawksworth who was making his sportscar debut.

The GT Daytona victory went to Alessandro Balzan and Jeff Westphal’s Ferrari

Latest Photos

Latest Video

Kellymoss provides drivers a path to the IMSA WeatherTech Championship

Friday August 25, 2023