2015 TUDOR schedule revealed

August 10, 2014

2015 TUDOR schedule revealed

August 10, 2014

2015_calendarThe 2015 TUDOR United SportsCar Championship schedule was revealed at Road America this morning with each class scheduled to contest ten rounds over a total of 12 events next year.

The major change to the calendar for next year is the removal of the Friday night at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. After being absent from the inaugural schedule this year, Lime Rock Park returns in 2015 after hosting both GRAND-AM Rolex Series and American Le Mans Series races in 2013.

The PC class visit to Kansas will also not return next year.

The season opens with the 53rd running of the Rolex 24 At Daytona on Jan. 24-25. The Rolex 24 also kicks off the Tequila Patrón North American Endurance Cup, which returns in 2015. It continues with the 63rd Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Fueled by Fresh From Florida on March 21, followed by the Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen on June 28 and the season-ending Petit Le Mans Powered by Mazda on Oct. 3.

“This is simply an outstanding and exciting schedule for sports car racing fans across North America,” said IMSA CEO Ed Bennett.

“We wanted to further elevate what was an impressive TUDOR Championship schedule in 2014, and we accomplished that goal with the addition of Lime Rock Park by popular demand.

“Moving to 10 races per class addresses a desire and positive input voiced by many of our competitors. One of the most important components for all of our stakeholders is the fact that all 12 TUDOR Championship races will be televised on FOX Sports.”

Every TUDOR Championship class will compete simultaneously in the four Patrón Endurance Cup events, as well as two additional venues: Road America (Aug. 9) and Circuit of The Americas (Sept. 18).

The class format for 2015 events at Long Beach (April 18), Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca (May 3), Detroit Belle Isle (May 30) and Virginia International Raceway (Aug. 23) go unchanged from 2014. Long Beach will once again feature the Prototype (P) and GT Le Mans (GTLM) classes, while Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca will again include a pair of two-hour races – one for the P and GTLM class and one for PC and GTD.

The P and GTD classes will share the stage in the Motor City with GTLM teams such as Corvette Racing and SRT Motorsports free to contest the annual Le Mans test day.

The unique double-header at VIR returns in 2015, featuring the GTLM and GTD classes battling it out in one race and the PC class headlining its own race.

Another notable revision to the 2015 schedule sees the PC class join P and GTLM at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park in Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada. PC replaces the GTD class, which competed at the facility this year.

“When we set out to create the inaugural TUDOR Championship schedule we wanted to have a calendar that featured the most iconic endurance races, historic road courses and major market street circuits in North America all on the same schedule,” said IMSA President and COO Scott Atherton.

“We have confirmed all of those elements once again on the 2015 schedule, while also adding another noteworthy venue in Lime Rock Park. This is a schedule that we are confident will be embraced by the industry and sports car fans worldwide.”

The first IMSA-sanctioned activity for the 2015 TUDOR Championship will be the annual Roar Before The Rolex 24 test session at Daytona International Speedway on the weekend of Jan. 9-11.

Jan. 24-25: Daytona International Speedway – All classes
March 21: Sebring International Raceway – All classes
April 18: Long Beach Street Circuit – P/GTLM
May 3: Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca – P/GTLM and PC/GTD
May 30: Detroit Belle Isle – P/GTD
June 28: Watkins Glen International – All classes
July 12: Canadian Tire Motorsport Park – P/PC/GTLM
July 25: Lime Rock Park – PC/GTD
Aug. 9: Road America – All classes
Aug. 23: Virginia International Raceway – PC/GTLM/GTD
Sept. 19: Circuit of The Americas – All classes
Oct. 3: Road Atlanta – All classes

Latest Photos

Latest Video

Kellymoss provides drivers a path to the IMSA WeatherTech Championship

Friday August 25, 2023