2014 schedule announced

September 20, 2013

2014 schedule announced

September 20, 2013


The inaugural schedule for the Tudor United SportsCar championship has been announced – the new series which will merge the American Le Mans Series and the GRAND-AM Rolex Series in 2014.

tudor_logoThe calendar will feature 12 dates with teams in the four classes – Prototype, Prototype Challenge, GT Le Mans and GT Daytona – each contesting 11 race weekends. Long Beach will feature on Prototype and GT Le Mans, Belle Isle at Detroit will include Prototype, Prototype Challenge and GT Daytona classes and VIR will have a combined GT Le Mans/GT Daytona race and another race featuring the Prototype Challenge class.

This enables ALMS GT teams like Corvette Racing and SRT Motorsports to contest the 24 Hours of Le Mans test day held on the same weekend as Detroit.

In addition, preseason test sessions have been set for Nov. 16-17 at Sebring International Raceway and Nov. 19-20 at Daytona International Speedway.

For GRAND-AM Rolex Series teams, they’ll add Sebring, Long Beach, Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, VIR and Road Atlanta to their scheulde. ALMS teams will go to Daytona, Watkins Glen and Indianapolis for the first time.

Tracks missing from the schedule will include Lime Rock Park which hosts both ALMS and GRAND-AM and the Baltimore street race which won’t be scheduled for sportscars or IndyCar in 2014. From the GRAND-AM schedule Barber Motorsport Park, Mid-Ohio and Kansas Speedway won’t have sportscar action on their 2014 schedule.

“We have created a premium schedule for sports car fans, taking our new championship to some of the best road racing facilities in North America,” said IMSA CEO Ed Bennett.

“Our event lineup also underscores the cooperative spirit of the merger between the GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series and the American Le Mans Series presented by Tequila Patrón (ALMS). The ‘best of both worlds’ approach, our shared guidepost throughout the merger process, is certainly evident when you look at the 2014 schedule.

“We had many interested parties but for 2014, we only considered facilities from our 2013 Rolex Series and ALMS schedules. That was in fairness to our existing track partners, who have been such strong supporters of both series. The first TUDOR United SportsCar Championship season will feature iconic tracks deeply rich in history. We are very proud of this group of 12 facilities which have been selected for the inaugural season.”

Jan 25-26: Daytona International Speedway
Mar 15: Sebring International Raceway
Apr 12: Long Beach Street Circuit
May 4: Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
May 31: Detroit Belle Isle
Jun 29: Watkins Glen International
Jul 13: Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
Jul 25: Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Aug 10: Road America
Aug 24: Virginia International Raceway
Sep 20: Circuit of The Americas
Oct 4: Road Atlanta

Latest Photos

Latest Video

A memorable IMSA season ended with the excitement of Motul Petit Le Mans

Wednesday October 18, 2023