13 pole men in 13 races in GTLM

March 20, 2015

13 pole men in 13 races in GTLM

March 20, 2015

mako_poleThe world’s best sportscar drivers have fought it out for pole position in the hotly-contested GTLM class 13 times since the debut of the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship last year. Remarkably – 13 different drivers have scored the pole with Porsche’s Fred Makowiecki scoring the honor today.

Porsche locked out the front-row with a dominant performance – Makowiecki beating teammate Patrick Pilet to the top spot. Makowiecki recorded a fastest time of 1:58.581 giving the Porsche North America team its second consecutive Sebring pole.

pla_poleLast year Michael Christensen scored the top spot for Porsche with a lap of  1:58.933.

Previously, pole positions in the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship have been scored by Jan Magnussen, Antonio Garcia, Nick Tandy, Christensen, Andy Priaulx, John Edwards, Marc Goossens, Kuno Wittmer, Jonathan Bomarito, Giancarlo Fisichella, Pierre Kaffer and Oliver Gavin

Corvette Racing’s Garcia was third fastest aboard his Rolex 24 at Daytona winning C7.R ahead of Dirk Werner’s BMW and Kaffer’s Ferrari.

Porsche went on to win the race here at Sebring last year as well.

“We are trying to get the same result of the 912 last year with the pole also and won the race, now we need to do the 12 hours and we know we have a really impressive car,” Makowiecki said.

“The most important is to be at your maximum. That is what we tried this weekend. I think we worked hard to optimize every aspect. That is what we tried and we are really proud of that.”

In the Prototype class Krohn Racing took pole for the first time at Sebring with Frenchman, Olivier Pla. He stopped the clocks at 1:51.152 to outpace Ryan Dalziel’s Patrón Racing ESM HPD by .303 of a second. Pla’s fastest and second fastest lap would have actually been enough to earn the top spot.

Just days after celebrating St. Patrick’s Day, Sebring fans will be greeted by two green Prototypes on the front row of the grid tomorrow.

Other pole winners included Martin Plowman in PC ahead of Colin Braun and Tom Kimber-Smith. The GT Daytona ranks, Jeroen Bleekemolen finally broke James Davison’s run of five consecutive poles in the class.

Latest Photos

Latest Video

Kellymoss provides drivers a path to the IMSA WeatherTech Championship

Friday August 25, 2023